The Value of NCIDQ Certification:

NCIDQ Certification is the industry’s recognized indicator of proficiency in Interior Design principles and a Designer’s commitment to the profession.

The NCIDQ Examination is the broad-based exam for all Interior Designers and serves as the foundation from which to build for those moving into specialty design areas. NCIDQ Certification is required for the practice of many types of Interior Design in regulated jurisdictions throughout North America.  Certification enables Designers to easily validate their knowledge, experience and skill to employers and clients alike. Designers certified through the NCIDQ Examination gain wide industry visibility and recognition. They are members of a select but growing community—more than 30,000 strong.

The NCIDQ Exams cover seven distinct areas that capture the core competencies of interior design:

Building Systems  /  Codes  /  Construction Standards  /  Contract Administration
Design Application  /  Professional Practice  /  Project Coordination

All exam eligibility requirements and test information can be found here:

Additionally, IIDA IN hosts free study sessions for the exam in the Spring. 

Spring Exams Fall Exams
Applications Accepted
August 1 - January 31
Deadline: January 31*
February 1 - July 31
Deadline: July 31*
Exam Payment & Scheduling Period
January 3 - March 31
July 1 - September 30
Exam Administration
April 1 - 30
October 1 - 31

For more information, please contact:

Ellie Watson
VP of Advocacy

Skip to content